Dallas Cowboys cut down to 53 players

IRVING, Texas -- The Dallas Cowboys have made their final roster cuts, but that doesn't mean the 53-man roster is finalized.

According to sources, the Cowboys cut the following players: Alex Tanney, Anthony Armstrong, Edawn Coughman, Jakar Hamilton, Taylor Reed, Demetress Bell, Kendial Lawrence, Xavier Brewer, Jerome Long, Jabari Fletcher, Caleb McSurdy, Cameron Lawrence, Thaddeus Gibson, Ray Dominguez, Danny Coale, Jason Vega, Tim Benford, Micah Pellerin, Sterling Moore, Brandon Magee and Kevin Kowalski.

Safety Matt Johnson is heading to season-ending injured reserve.

The Cowboys will be actively looking at the waiver wire for upgrades. Tanney, Pellerin, Magee, Benford, Coale and Vega could be practice squad candidates if they clear waivers.

The Cowboys guaranteed Magee $70,000 and gave Hamilton $10,000 to sign as undrafted free agents and hope to bring them back to the practice squad. Magee missed the final two preseason games with a concussion.