Charles Haley a finalist again

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced 15 finalists on Thursday night. Defensive end Charles Haley, who won three Super Bowls with the Cowboys, was named a finalist for the fifth time.

Haley recorded double-digit sacks in six seasons and was a two-time All-Pro and five-time Pro Bowler.

It was Haley's move to the Cowboys from the 49ers that shifted the balance of power in the NFC in the 1990s.

Dallas native wide receiver Tim Brown was also named a finalist for the fifth time. Brown, a nine-time Pro Bowler, ranks fifth in NFL history in all-purpose yards, sixth in receiving yards and fifth in catches. Brown played with the Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders and Tampa Bay.

The Class of 2014 will be announced Feb. 1 in New York.

The modern-era finalists are as follows: Morten Andersen, Jerome Bettis, Derrick Brooks, Brown, Edward DeBartolo, Tony Dungy, Kevin Greene, Haley, Marvin Harrison, Walter Jones, John Lynch, Andre Reed, Will Shields, Michael Strahan and Aeneas Williams.