McCoy takes third, now goes for No. 1

How hard is it to believe that Mark Ingram is Alabama's first Heisman Trophy winner? That just doesn't seem possible, but it is true. Even more remarkable is that throughout the decades of sensational Crimson Tide players, none ever finished in the top three in Heisman voting.

And talk about a game of inches. The hard-charging Ingram won the 75th Heisman Trophy by the smallest margin ever, barely nudging by another tough runner, Stanford's Toby Gerhart.

Texas quarterback Colt McCoy had to settle for third place, finishing ahead of Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh and Florida quarterback Tim Tebow. McCoy likely lost any shot at the trophy with his three-interception game in the Big 12 title squeaker.

For the Texas gunslinger, however, there remains unsettled business on the field. McCoy will try to equal his predecessor Vince Young, who also left New York empty handed, but left Pasadena, Calif., with a national championship.

McCoy, who finished second in the Heisman voting a year ago, and Alabama's Ingram will meet on Jan. 7 at the Rose Bowl to settle one last score.