Are state's two best QBs in DFW?

That might be taking things a bit far, what with Jerrod Johnson returning to Texas A&M, Robert Griffin coming back from injury at Baylor and Texas Tech having an interesting dual upcoming with Taylor Potts and Steven Sheffield.

But, the Metroplex has got a couple of good ones. Fans are well acquainted with TCU's Andy Dalton, who led the Horned Frogs to the Fiesta Bowl and returns for his senior season. More are becoming familiar with SMU QB Kyle Padron who had a fine freshman season and broke out in a big way in the Hawaii Bowl by throwing for a school-record 460 yards and two touchdowns in the Mustangs' first bowl game since 1984. He was named the game's MVP.

Both Padron and Dalton will be among nine returning players given the Touchdown Club of Columbus' Award of Distinction during their awards banquet on Feb. 6.

The seven other honorees are WRs James Cleveland (Houston) and Jonathan Baldwin (Pittsburgh), RB Jeremy Avery (Boise State) and a foursome of Ohio State Buckeyes in LB Brian Rolle, DL Cameron Heyward and WRs DeVier Posey and Dane Sanzenbacher.