TCU RB named Doak Walker semifinalist

TCU's Ed Wesley has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2010 Doak Walker Award, presented to the nation's top running back.

Wesley is one of just two sophomores on the list, joining Oregon's LaMichael James.

Wesley tops TCU with 988 yards rushing. He needs 12 yards to become the third-ranked Horned Frogs’ first 1,000-yard rusher since Robert Merrill (1,107) in 2003. Wesley is averaging 6.6 yards per carry with a team-high 11 touchdowns, finding the end zone in eight of third-ranked TCU's 10 games.

An Irving, Texas, native, Wesley is on pace for 1,284 yards. It would mark TCU's highest single-season rushing total since LaDainian Tomlinson won the 2000 Doak Walker Award with a nation’s best 2,158 yards.

Here are the other nine semifinalists:

John Clay, Wisconsin

Kendall Hunter, Oklahoma State

Mark Ingram, Alabama

LaMichael James, Oregon

DeMarco Murray, Oklahoma

Bilal Powell, Louisville

Jacquizz Rodgers, Oregon State

Vai Taua, Nevada

Daniel Thomas, Kansas State