Davey O'Brien QB watch list announced

The Davey O'Brien Foundation announced its watch list Friday featuring the nation's top 38 collegiate quarterbacks.

Baylor's Robert Griffin and Oklahoma's Landry Jones -- both 2010 semifinalist -- return to the list. Also appearing are SMU's Kyle Padron, Texas A&M's Ryan Tannehill and Oklahoma State's Brandon Weeden.

Appearing on the watch list is not a requirement to win the Davey O'Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 120 Division I FBS schools are eligible until the field is narrowed to 16 candidates on Oct. 24. The three finalists will be announced Nov. 21, and the winner Dec. 8.

Two of the last three winners of the award have come from the Big 12 South. Texas' Colt McCoy was honored in 2009, and Oklahoma's Sam Bradford won the year before. Auburn's Cam Newton was the 2010 winner.

The 35th Davey O'Brien Awards dinner will be Feb. 20, 2012, in Fort Worth.