SMU, TCU, UNT backs join Doak Walker list

The 51 preseason candidates for the 2011 Doak Walker Award presented to the nation's top running back were announced Friday.

Two TCU running backs made the list: Matthew Tucker and Ed Wesley. SMU's Zach Line and North Texas' Lance Dunbar also represent DFW schools.

Texas A&M's Cyrus Gray and Christine Michael were also tabbed. Nebraska back and Plano product Rex Burkhead also appears.

Last season's recipient, Oregon junior and Texarkana native LaMichael James, returns to the watch list after leading the nation in scoring and rushing in 2010.

Semifinalists will be named Nov. 11, and finalists will be determined Nov. 21. The winner will be announced Dec. 8 on ESPN.