Big 12 announces 2012 award winners

The Big 12 will be slowly rolling out its award winners this morning for the 2012 season. It'll also be releasing the All-Big 12 team.

We'll have a separate post for the All-Big 12 team later today, but you can follow along right here to keep track of the Big 12 award winners. I'll update it as necessary, so keep checking back.

Let's get started:

Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year: Bill Snyder, Kansas State

Snyder has now won the award in two consecutive seasons. This is his fourth coaching honor from the league.

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Cyril Richardson, Baylor.

Richardson was a rock on the front line of the nation's No. 1 offense.

Defensive Lineman of the Year: Meshak Williams, Kansas State

Williams was third in the league with 13.5 tackles for loss and led the league with 9.5 sacks. He earned 8.5 of his sacks in conference play, compared to just 4.5 for TCU's Devonte Fields.

Offensive Freshman of the Year: J.W. Walsh, QB, Oklahoma State

Walsh started three games for Oklahoma State before suffering a leg injury and missing three games. He returned for the final three games of the season with a short yardage package for the Cowboys. He's the first offensive freshman of the year at Oklahoma State since Tony Lindsay in 1997.

Defensive Freshman of the Year: Devonte Fields, DE, TCU

Fields, a true freshman, finished second in the Big 12 with nine sacks and led the league with 17.5 tackles for loss. He was a unanimous selection for the award.

Special Teams Player(s) of the Year: Quinn Sharp, P/K/KOS, Oklahoma State and Tavon Austin, PR/KR, West Virginia

The pair do everything for their respective teams, and will share the award. Austin was the only player in the league to return both a punt and a touchdown for scores this season, and Sharp's 25 field goals were six more than any kicker in the Big 12. He also led the league in punting average and had 71 touchbacks on kickoffs. No other kicker had more than 33. Sharp has won the award in two consecutive seasons now, and it's the first time the award has ever been shared. An Oklahoma State player has won the award in three of the past five seasons.

Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Lache Seastrunk, RB, Baylor.

Seastrunk began the season quietly, but racked up 693 yards and five touchdowns in his final five games.