SMU's Taylor Lasecki on Rimington watch list

Watch list season means we're one step closer to the actual college football season. The latest watch list to be released is for the Rimington Trophy, which is given each year to the best center in the nation.

The Big East has four players on the 44-man list, which is led by nine SEC players and five each from the Pac-12 and the Mountain West Conference.

Houston's Bryce Redman, Rutgers' Betim Bujari, SMU's Taylor Lasecki, USF's Austin Reiter make up the Big East contingent.

The Rimington Trophy committee uses the AFCA, Walter Camp, Sporting News and FWAA All-American teams to determine a winner. The winner will be honored Jan. 11, 2014 at the Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rocco Theater in Lincoln, Neb.

Former Louisville center Mario Benavides was one of six finalists for the award last season.