Ten Big 12 receivers on Biletnikoff list

Ten Big 12 players made the watch list for the Fred Biletnikoff Award, given annually to college football's top receiver.

It's a little surprising to see Metoyer on that list after he caught just 17 passes for 148 yards and a score last year, especially when fellow freshman Sterling Shepard hauled in 45 balls for 621 yards for the Sooners. I don't really get how that happened. I probably would have included Kansas State's Tyler Lockett, too, who caught 44 balls for 692 yards a year ago.

Besides that, a good list from the Big 12's perspective.

Justin Blackmon won the award in 2010 and 2011, and Texas Tech's Michael Crabtree's wins in 2007 and 2008 have given the Big 12 four of the past six Biletnikoff Awards. West Virginia's Stedman Bailey and Baylor's Terrance Williams were both finalists last season, losing to USC's Marqise Lee. The league's reputation for receivers precedes itself, but this year most of the receivers across the Big 12 have a lot to prove.