SMU's Dickerson nominated for NFF HOF

Former SMU running back Eric Dickerson (1979-82), who gained 4,450 yards on 790 carries and scored 48 career TDs with the Mustangs, is among the 77 nominees on the ballot for the National Football Foundation Hall of Fame.

The FBS Hall of Fame Class will be announced live on May 27 from the NASDAQ Times Square site in New York City during a noon news conference that has previously aired on ESPNEWS. The class will be inducted at The National Football Foundation’s Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 7, 2010.

Among other Big 12 (and former Southwest Conference) nominees:

* Eric Bieniemy, Colorado, Running Back, 1987-90

* Brian Bosworth, Oklahoma, Linebacker, 1984-86

* Ronnie Caveness, Arkansas, Center, 1962-64

* Ray Childress, Texas A&M, Defensive Lineman, 1981-84

* Bobby Douglass, Kansas, Quarterback, 1966-68

* Doug English, Texas, Defensive Tackle, 1972-74

* Tony Franklin, Texas A&M, Placekicker, 1975-78

* Jerry Gray, Texas, Defensive Back, 1981-84

* Will Shields, Nebraska, Offensive Guard, 1989-92

* Rod Shoate, Oklahoma, Linebacker, 1972-74

* Don Trull, Baylor, Quarterback, 1961-63

* Alfred Williams, Colorado, Linebacker, 1987-90

Players with Dallas Cowboys ties on the list:

* Bob Breunig, Arizona State, Linebacker, 1972-74

* Randall Cunningham, Nevada-Las Vegas, Punter, 1982-84

* Eddie George, Ohio State, Running Back, 1992-95

* Russell Maryland, Miami (Fla.), Defensive Tackle, 1986-90

* Ken Norton, Jr., UCLA, Linebacker, 1984-87

* Deion Sanders, Florida State, Defensive Back, 1985-88