Three from Big 12 elected to Hall of Fame

Three players from Big 12 programs are the newest members of the College Football Hall of Fame.

Texas defensive back Jerry Gray, now the defensive coordinator for the Tennessee Titans, can add Hall of Famer to his resume after today.

So can the late Rod Shoate, who led Oklahoma in tackles for three seasons from 1972-74 and won the national title in 1974.

Baylor quarterback Don Trull finished his career as the all-time Southwest Conference leader in touchdowns, with 42, and joins Shoate and Gray as Hall of Famers.

Nebraska quarterback Tommie Frazier also finally joined the Hall of Fame, but Oklahoma linebacker Brian Bosworth didn't get the necessary votes to do the same.

To qualify for the Hall of Fame, a player must have been a first-team All-American, have played within the last 50 years (afterward, he may be nominated by the Veterans Committee) and be retired from professional football.