<
>

Celebration penalty on Sam Hurd?

IRVING, Texas -- Cowboys coach Wade Phillips said he talked to Carl Johnson, the NFL's VP of officiating, and the excessive celebration penalty wasn't actually on Miles Austin. It was on Sam Hurd.

Hurd, apparently, flashed the "Hook'em Horns" sign like Roy Williams always does, making it a choreographed celebration deemed illegal in the rule book. So the leapfrog that caused Austin so much angst the last two days was not the reason the flag came out.

An official on the field told Phillips that the penalty was on Austin. But Phillips said he called Johnson for clarification Monday morning and was told it was on Sam Hurd.

Phillips said the team is going with "college rules" when it comes to celebration.

"Our celebration needs to be after the game, after we win," Phillips said.