Cowboys get a compensatory pick

The Cowboys are one of 23 NFL teams to receive a compensatory pick. They will receive just one, to be taken in the seventh-round.

Under the rules for compensatory draft selections, a team losing more or better compensatory free agents than it acquires in the previous year is eligible to receive compensatory draft picks.

The number of picks a team receives equals the net loss of compensatory free agents up to a maximum of four.

Here's the list of teams with picks:

Team and the pick(s)

Carolina 3

Baltimore 2

Minnesota 2

New York Giants 2

Philadelphia 2

San Diego 2

San Francisco 2

Tennessee 2

Arizona, Buffalo, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Dallas, Denver, Green Bay, Houston, Kansas City, Miami, New Orleans, Oakland, Seattle, Tampa Bay and Washington each have one.

Since 1994, the Cowboys have had 29 compensatory picks.