Hall of Fame update: Surprise leader

With one day in the books, voting for the inaugural ESPN Dallas Hall of Fame class is off to a surprising start: The leader isn’t affiliated with the Dallas Cowboys.

That’s right. With icons such as Tom Landry, Roger Staubach, Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith and Bob Lilly on the ballot, there’s a Texas Ranger leading the way after more than 27,000 votes were tabulated. Guess you could say that Nolan Ryan, who’s listed on 59.9 percent of the ballots, doesn’t back down from anybody … not even the Cowboys’ greatest players.

That’s not to say the Cowboys haven’t made an impact. They have. Of the ballots cast, Smith (58.6 percent), Landry (54.4 percent), Aikman (43.7 percent) and Staubach (38.7 percent) are in the first day’s top five.

But even Staubach needs to pay attention in his rear-view mirror. There’s a seven-time Tour de France winner – Lance Armstrong (35.5 percent) – drafting right behind him.

Fans can vote for their top-five selections once per day through Aug. 14. Click here for a slideshow presentation of the nominees.