Class of '03 now longest tenured Cowboys

IRVING, Texas -- With Andre Gurode gone, cornerback Terence Newman, tight end Jason Witten, linebacker Bradie James and quarterback Tony Romo are now the longest tenured members of the Cowboys.

Because he was a first-round pick Newman has been a Cowboy longer over Witten (third round), James (fourth) and Romo (undrafted). Punter Mat McBriar was added at the end of the 2003 season to the practice squad.

Gurode was a second-round selection in 2002 and held the longest-tenured post last year after Flozell Adams, Class of 1998, was released.

“I haven’t had a lot of time to think about that, but it’s definitely that window is now,” Witten said. “You’ve got to take advantage of those opportunities when they present themselves. This team understands that it’s a success driven league and we need to play well collectively and individually.”

Gurode had played in five straight Pro Bowls from 2006-10, leading up to his release. Larry Allen had played in 10 of 11 Pro Bowls before his release prior to the 2006 season.