Jason Garrett adds the captain 'C' this year

IRVING, Texas -- In 2007 the NFL allowed teams to put the captains’ C on the jersey of the players, like in hockey and baseball, but the Cowboys were one of the few teams that chose not to add the patch.

Jason Garrett changed that this year, so Tony Romo, Jason Witten, Bradie James, DeMarcus Ware and Mat McBriar have the C on their jersey.

“It is special,” said Witten, who has been a captain the last few seasons. “The first time doing that, it means a lot coming from Jason. I think that reminds you when you’re on the field what you represent not only with your play but how you lead. Obviously it’s a good symbol.”

Garrett said the players voted last week before the season opener but does not believe the five named are the only players worthy.

“We’re fortunate to have a number of other leaders who are really good football players who’ve been around here for a while who understand what kind of football team we want to be,” Garrett said.