Cowboys lag in Pro Bowl voting

IRVING, Texas -- DeMarcus Ware’s 13 sacks have him as the current leader among outside linebackers in voting for the NFC all-star team for the Pro Bowl.

Ware, who has played in the last five Pro Bowls, is the only Cowboy to lead his position. Through Tuesday he had 219,065 votes, which is the most among outside linebackers in either conference.

The only other Cowboys in the top five of voting at their positions are tight end Jason Witten, punter Mat McBriar and rookie kicker Dan Bailey. Witten, who has played in the last seven Pro Bowls, is fourth among tight ends, behind New Orleans’ Jimmy Graham, Green Bay’s Jermichael Finley and Atlanta’s Tony Gonzalez. McBriar is fourth among punters and Bailey is third among kickers.

Fans can vote at www.nfl.com/probowl. The teams will be announced Dec. 27 after the players and coaches cast their ballots on Dec. 21-22. The Pro Bowl will be played Jan. 29 in Hawaii.