Cowboys snap counts: offense

IRVING, Texas -- The Dallas Cowboys had 997 offensive snaps in 2013 with right tackle Doug Free and center Travis Frederick the only players to take part in every play.

Left tackle Tyron Smith came close with 995.

The Cowboys had 25 players take at least one snap on offense in 2013, from as high as Free and Frederick to as low as Phil Costa, who had one snap and it came at fullback.

Only three teams used fewer players on offense than the Cowboys: Washington Redskins (24), Philadelphia Eagles (22) and Chicago Bears (21).

In his 11th season, Jason Witten played 984 offensive snaps. The much-talked about “12 personnel” revamping of the offense never really took place. James Hanna played 311 snaps. Gavin Escobar, the Cowboys' second-round pick, played in only 197. Terrance Williams played in 716 snaps. Cole Beasley (242) played in more snaps than Escobar and Dwayne Harris played in 147 while missing big chunks of four games with hamstring injuries.

Escobar showed flashes late in the season, much the same way Hanna showed flashes late in his rookie season in 2012, but if the Cowboys want to be serious about their two-tight end offense, they need to re-tool their plan. There was little different about how they used it from when they took Martellus Bennett in the second round in 2008.

Injuries also limited Lance Dunbar’s effectiveness. He played in only 51 offensive snaps before a knee injury on Thanksgiving ended his season. He also battled through foot and hamstring injuries. If Dunbar can regain form, the Cowboys will have a nice complement to DeMarco Murray.

Offensive snaps:

997 - Doug Free, Travis Frederick

995 – Tyron Smith

990 – Ronald Leary

984 – Jason Witten

933 – Dez Bryant

919 – Tony Romo

716 – Terrance Williams

675 – Mackenzy Bernadeau

672 – DeMarco Murray

524 – Miles Austin

329 – Brian Waters

311 - James Hanna

242 – Cole Beasley

197 – Gavin Escobar

147 – Dwayne Harris

119 – Joseph Randle

78 – Kyle Orton

51 – Lance Dunbar

47 – Tyler Clutts

39 – Phillip Tanner

20 – Jermey Parnell

11 – Kyle Bosworth

8 – Andre Smith

1 – Phil Costa