Barry Church to pick up Ed Block Award

IRVING, Texas -- Safety Barry Church will be recognized Monday at the Ed Block Courage Award dinner as the Dallas Cowboys' winner of the annual award named after the former Baltimore Colts trainer.

Church returned to start every game in 2013 and led the Cowboys in tackles after missing 13 games in 2013 because of a torn Achilles. Church finished with 135 total tackles (107 solo) to go with five tackles for loss, one interception, six pass deflections, three forced fumbles and a fumble recovery. He returned the fumble 27 yards for a touchdown against the New York Giants.

The award is voted on by the players and is given to the player who exemplifies inspiration, sportsmanship and courage.

Jason Witten (2012), Tony Romo (2011), Sam Hurd (2010), Kyle Kosier and Joe DeCamillis (2009) have been the most recent winners.