Cowboys believe officials got one wrong

MIAMI -- What could have been an exceptional night for the Dallas Cowboys’ special teams turned into a big missed opportunity in their 25-20 loss to the Miami Dolphins.

Bruce Carter blocked a Brandon Fields punt in the second quarter that Tyrone Crawford recovered at the Miami 10, but the play was negated because of an illegal formation penalty on Crawford.

The officials ruled Crawford initially lined up within a yard of the Dolphins' long snapper, which is illegal. Special teams coach Rich Bisaccia showed officials the photos of the snap to plead his case after the penalty, and Jason Garrett let the officials know they were wrong as well.

“When you’re lined up over the center, you can’t step within a yard of the center, which I know for sure I was not,” Crawford said. “I would never line up a yard [from the center]. I know Bisaccia. We went over that many times.”

The Dolphins eventually punted and the Cowboys took over at their 20 with 3:53 left in the half. They ended up settling for a 50-yard field goal by Dan Bailey on their final drive of the first half.

Instead of a game-changing play, the special teams had to be pleased with field goals of 52 and 50 yards, respectively, from Bailey and a 50-yard kickoff return from Dwayne Harris.