From Ice Bowl to Dez Bryant's non-catch, Cowboys, Packers have history

Upon further review: Dez Bryant's controversial non-catch is among many memorable moments in Cowboys-Packers history. Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports

FRISCO, Texas -- The Dallas Cowboys' march to a dynasty in the 1990s was helped by wins against the Green Bay Packers in the 1993 and '95 playoffs.

If the Cowboys want to start another march in the 2010s, it will have to come with at least a win Sunday against the Packers at AT&T Stadium.

This will be the eighth playoff meeting between two of the most storied franchises in NFL history, the most famous being the Ice Bowl, a 21-17 win by the Packers in the 1967 NFL championship game. The most recent was two seasons ago, a 26-21 Packers win that saw the Cowboys' chances disappear when a Dez Bryant catch at the goal line was overturned.

In between, the Cowboys won four straight playoff matchups between the teams (1982, 1993, 1994 and 1995).

In 1993, the Cowboys defeated the Packers 27-17 at Texas Stadium in the divisional round. Two weeks later, Dallas picked up its second consecutive Super Bowl victory.

In 1995, the Cowboys beat Brett Favre and the Packers in the NFC Championship Game. Two weeks later, Dallas won its third Lombardi Trophy in a four-season span.


1966 NFL championship: Green Bay, 34-27

1967 NFL championship: Green Bay, 21-17

1982 divisional round: Dallas, 37-26

1993 divisional round: Dallas, 27-17

1994 divisional round: Dallas, 35-9

1995 conference championship: Dallas 38-27

2014 divisional round: Green Bay, 26-21