Cowboys to invite 14 to rookie camp tryout

IRVING, Texas – Last year, defensive end Ben Bass turned a rookie minicamp tryout into spot on the Cowboys’ practice squad and eventually a call-up to the 53-man roster.

The Cowboys have invited 14 players to this weekend’s rookie minicamp in hopes of finding another Bass, including three players with local ties: Houston linebacker Everett Daniels (Sachse) and two Texas Tech-exes, wide receiver Darrin Moore (Irving MacArthur) and long snapper Jesse Smitherman (Burleson).

The other invitees are tight end B.J. Stewart (Cumberland), wide receiver Anthony Amos (Middle Tennessee), tackle James Nelson (UTEP), defensive end Tremayne Scott (Ohio), defensive lineman Jerome Long (San Diego State), defensive tackle Nick Johnson (Baylor), defensive tackle DiMetrio Tyson (Jacksonville State), running back Robbie Rouse (Fresno State), offensive lineman D.J. Hall (Texas State), guard Micah James (Middle Tennessee) and cornerback Adrien Spencer (Bowling Green).

They will join the Cowboys' seven draft picks and assorted first-year players at the camp. The first practice is Friday morning.