Jason Dufner trying for DFW double

UPDATE: Colonial officials corrected an error from Thursday when they listed 12 golfers that have won both the HP Byron Nelson and Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial. The number of golfers to win both events is actually 14. The full list is below.

FORT WORTH, Texas -- The only player to win both PGA Tour events in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex in the same season was Ben Hogan, who won the Dallas Open (which later became the Byron Nelson) and Colonial in 1946. The tournaments were months apart then, but no one has been able to win both in the same year.

Could Jason Dufner change all of that? He's certainly in position. Dufner shot a 5-under 65 in Thursday's opening round of the Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial and is one shot back of Zach Johnson.

Dufner is trying to become the 15th player to win both the Nelson and Colonial, joining a list that includes some big names:

Rory Sabbatini: 2007 (Colonial), 2009 (Nelson)

Sergio Garcia: 2001 (Colonial), 2004 (Nelson)

Phil Mickelson: 2002, '08 (Colonial), 1996 (Nelson)

Nick Price: 1994 (Colonial), 1991 (Nelson)

Bruce Lietzke: 1992 (Colonial), 1981, 88 (Nelson)

Ben Crenshaw: 1977, 90 (Colonial), 1983 (Nelson)

Lanny Wadkins: 1988 (Colonial), 1973 (Nelson)

Jack Nicklaus: 1982 (Colonial), 1970, 71 (Nelson)

Bruce Devlin: 1966 (Colonial), 1969 (Nelson)

Roberto DiVicenzo: 1957 (Colonial), 1966 (Nelson)

Ben Hogan: 1946-47, 1952-53, 1959 (Colonial), 1946 (Dallas)

Julius Boros: 1960, 63 (Colonial), 1959 (Dallas)

Sam Snead: 1950 (Colonial), 1945, 1957-58 (Dallas)