Zach Johnson incurs penalty on final green

FORT WORTH, Texas -- A confusing ending to the Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial did not change the winner, only his margin of victory.

Zach Johnson was assessed a two-stroke penalty on the final hole for a failure to replace his ball in the proper place on No. 18. He was two feet away from the cup when he marked his ball and moved the mark to get it out of the line of playing partner Jason Dufner.

Johnson failed to move the mark back before tapping in his putt. He was thus in violation of Rule 20-7.

Happily for Johnson, he could afford the penalty. Instead of a par, he was credited with a double bogey six, but at 12-under, still finished one shot ahead of runner-up Jason Dufner (11-under).