Phil Mickelson, Vijay Singh commit to Nelson

The HP Byron Nelson Championship got commitments from two multiple major winners Monday as Phil Mickelson (four major wins) and Vijay Singh (three major wins) officially signed up for the tournament, which runs May 17-20 at TPC Four Seasons at Las Colinas.

Mickelson hasn't played at the Nelson since 2007 and is former champion, winning in 1996 by two strokes. He has competed in the tournament 13 times. Singh won the event in 2004 and has placed in the top-20 five times in his 11 appearances.

"Having Phil and Vijay here to help us celebrate the 100th anniversary of Byron's birth makes it even more special," 2012 Tournament Chairman Robert Smith said in a release. "Phil and Byron had such a special relationship, and both of these champions have had a tremendous influence on the game."

Others committed to the event:

* Defending champion Keegan Bradley (who also won the 2011 PGA Championship)

* Carl Pettersson (winner last week at Harbor Town)

* Johnson Wagner (No. 8 on the PGA Tour money list)

* Brandt Snedeker (No. 12)

* John Huh (No. 21)

* Matt Kuchar (No. 25 and tied for third at The Masters)

Players have until the Friday before the tournanment to commit.