District 11-5A football season preview


  • DeSoto (9-3, 4-1 in 11-5A) lost in DI area finals. Coach: Claude Mathis

  • Longview (14-2, 6-0 in 13-4A) lost in 4A DI state finals. Coach: John King

  • Mesquite (1-9, 1-4 in 11-5A). Coach: Robbie Robinson

  • Mesquite Horn (6-5, 1-4 in 11-5A) lost in DII bi-district. Coach: Rodney Webb

  • North Mesquite (4-6, 1-4 in 11-5A). Coach: Mike Robinson

  • Tyler Lee (6-6, 4-1 in 11-5A) lost in DI area finals. Coach: Mike Owens

THE BIG QUESTION: Will it again be the three Class 5A Mesquite ISD schools playing for one playoff spot?

That’s what happened the last two seasons. The district is still composed of three Mesquite schools, DeSoto and two East Texas schools. The only change this time is Longview steps up from Class 4A to replace Tyler John Tyler, one East Texas power replacing another. Longview made it to the Class 4A state title game each of the last two seasons.

With DeSoto returning 10 starters and Tyler Lee returning 12 from 2009 playoff teams, it becomes all the more important for Mesquite, Mesquite Horn and North Mesquite to play well in the intracity games. Mesquite Horn captured its second straight playoff berth in a tiebreaker last year when all three Mesquite ISD teams went 1-4 in district play.

Mesquite and North Mesquite last made it to postseason in 2007.

Except for the high level of competition, 11-5A math (six teams, four playoff spots) is otherwise appealing.


QB Ryan Polite, WR Cameron White, RB Antoinne Jimmerson, DeSoto; DB Cortland Browning, DB Chad Reese, Tyler Lee; WR JaCorey Shepherd, DL Stephon Sanders, LB Kyle Boyd, Mesquite Horn; RB Joe Bergeron, LB Jared Brackens, North Mesquite; WR LaDarrin Robertson, OL C.J. Greene, Longview; LB Chris Davis, QB Jake Lanford, Mesquite.


In his DeSoto career that so far spans two full seasons and part of a third, quarterback Ryan Polite has passed for 6,593 yards and 57 touchdowns.


  1. DeSoto

  2. Longview

  3. Tyler Lee

  4. Mesquite Horn