District 6-4A football season preview


  • Fort Worth Arlington Heights (10-1, 9-0), lost in DI bi-district. Coach: Ged Kates.

  • Fort Worth Carter-Riverside (4-6, 4-5). Coach: James Jeffries.

  • Fort Worth Dunbar (3-7, 3-6). Coach: Todd Lawson.

  • Fort Worth Eastern Hills (5-5, 5-4). Coach: Michael Prewitt.

  • Fort Worth North Side (0-10, 0-9). Coach Andy Mills.

  • Fort Worth O.D. Wyatt (6-5, 6-3), lost in DII bi-district. Coach: Zachary Criss.

  • Fort Worth South Hills (3-7, 2-7). Coach: J.J. Resendez.

  • Fort Worth Southwest (8-4, 7-2), lost in DII area. Coach: Lanny Trammell.

  • Fort Worth Trimble Tech (1-9, 1-8). Coach: David Poggensee.

  • Fort Worth Western Hills (8-3, 8-1), lost in DI bi-district. Coach: John Naylor.

THE BIG QUESTION: Are the Fort Worth ISD schools closing the gap after years of playoff futility?

Signs seem to indicate football fortunes are on the upswing in Cowtown.

For instance, Southwest’s 38-37 bi-district win over Springtown in 2010 gave the Fort Worth ISD its second playoff victory in as many seasons.

More encouragement was provided by Arlington Heights. After a 10-0 regular season in 2010, Heights took Fort Worth Boswell to the wire before being eliminated, 52-49, in a bi-district game.

It was Heights in 2009 that snapped a seven-year string of first-round playoff knockouts for Fort Worth ISD teams with a win over Arlington Seguin.

Southwest and Heights should be solid again this season. Throw Dunbar, Western Hills and O.D. Wyatt into the mix, and the nine-week battle for the 6-4A title should be very entertaining.


QB Omar Valadez, LB Nate Guidry, LB Alex Faoro, Arlington Heights; DE Ryan Watkins, WR Jordan Moore, Carter-Riverside; WR/DB Anthony Lampkin, WR/DB Alex Johnson, Dunbar; WR Elijah Johnson, RB Shabravus Howard, Eastern Hills; RB Elias Medina, North Side; WR Deon Daniels, WR Ladell Marshall, O.D. Wyatt; Antwan Bradshaw, South Hills; QB Wesley Harris, RB Trey Colbert, FS Phillip Boyd, Southwest; DB Melvin Harper, Trimble Tech; OL Kenny Johnson, WR Mavrik Molina, Western Hills.


Arlington Heights became the second Fort Worth ISD school to reach 10 wins in a season in seven years and the first since Southwest went 10-1 in 2007. ... The lone head coaching change in 6-4A this season is at North Side, where Andy Mills takes over a program that failed to win a game in 2010. ... With 10 members, District 6 has the most of any 4A district in the state. Two others (Districts 15 and 32) have nine schools. ... Dunbar’s Anthony Lampkin intercepted six passes last season. ... As a sophomore last season, Southwest quarterback Wesley Harris was named the district’s Offensive Player of the Year after throwing for 1,570 yards and 25 touchdowns and rushing for 1,133 yards and 13 scores. ... Heights quarterback Omar Valdez threw for 2,400 yards and 30 scores in 2010.


  1. Arlington Heights

  2. Southwest

  3. Western Hills

  4. O.D. Wyatt