Sims, Jones named Player of Year finalists

Irving MacArthur senior guard Odyssey Sims and Duncanville forward Perry Jones were announced as finalists for McDonald's Morgan Wootten Player of the Year Awards.

Six male and six female finalists were named nationwide Wednesday.

The 5-8 Sims averaged 22.5 points and helped the Lady Cardinals reach the Class 5A Region I championship game. She suffered a torn ACL just 13 seconds into that game, in which MacArthur lost to Cedar Hill, 67-60.

ESPNU's HoopGurlz rates Sims the No. 3 senior prospect in the nation and the top point guard.

The 6-11 Jones found the radar with national scouts with his ability to handle the ball and shoot like a guard. He helped a young Duncanville team reach the area round of the playoffs. ESPNU ranks Jones ninth in the 2010 class nationally.

Sims and Jones has signed with Baylor.

The annual award, named after DeMatha (MD.) High School coaching legend Morgan Wootten, recognizes the nation's top boys and girls high school senior athletes. In addition to their skills on the court, the winners must demonstrate outstanding character, exhibit leadership, and embody the values of being a student-athlete, both in the classroom and in the community. Winners will be announced March 10.

The other finalists:

Male: Harrison Barnes (Ames High School -- Ames, Iowa), Kyrie Irving (St. Patrick High School -- Elizabeth, N.J.), Brandon Knight (Pine Crest School -- Fort Lauderdale, Fla.), Jared Sullinger (Northland High School -- Columbus, Ohio), Tristan Thompson (Findlay Prep -- Henderson, Nev.).

Female: Chelsea Gray (St. Mary's High School -- Stockton, Calif.), Bria Hartley (North Babylon High School -- North Babylon, N.Y.), Kaneisha Horn (Ramsay High School -- Birmingham, Ala.), Natasha Howard (Toledo Waite High School -- Toledo, Ohio), Chiney Ogwumike (Cy-Fair High School -- Cypress, Texas).

"These 12 finalists are all incredibly talented young players who understand what it means to give back to their communities," said Wootten, McDonald's All American Games selection committee chairman.