Five area players earn Whataburger honors

HALTOM CITY, Texas -- Despite not one area team winning an Orange Bracket championship, five area players were named to the Whataburger Tournament all-tournament team Friday.

North Richland Hills was the only team to have two players selected, with guard Ricky Roberts and forward Kris Brown earning honors.

DeSoto Eagle and Duke commit Matt Jones, along with fellow top recruit Marcus Smart of Flower Mound Marcus, also earned a spot with the tournament's elite.

Finally, Plano West's T.J. Cline was given the nod because of his efforts in sending the Wolves to a fourth-place finish.

Whataburger Tournament Orange Bracket All-Tournament Team:

MVP: Imara Ready, Little Rock Parkview

Anton Beard, Little Rock Parkview

T.J. Cline, Plano West

Derail Green, Klein Forest

Ricky Roberts, North Richland Hills Richland

Kris Brown, North Richland Hills Richland

Matt Jones, DeSoto

Dominique Borom, Milwaukee Rufus King

Arroyo Edwards, Milwaukee Rufus King

Marcus Smart, Flower Mound Marcus