Fort Worth hosts 79th THSCA convention

Somewhere in the neighborhood of 10,000 high school coaches from across the state are expected to descend on Fort Worth for the 79th annual Texas High School Coaches Association convention.

The four-day event (Sunday through Wednesday) will be based at Fort Worth Convention Center.

The expected turnout is a few thousand lower than recent years, due to school district budget cuts, a THSCA spokesperson said.

The association has over 20,000 members, the largest organization of its kind in the country. It has grown from 65 original members when it began in 1933.

North-South All-Star Games are the signature events of the convention. Rosters are composed of 2011 high school graduates and selected by a panel of coaches.

The All-Star Basketball Game will be played at 7:30 p.m. Monday at TCU’s Daniel-Meyer Coliseum.

The All-Star Football Game kicks off at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington.

During the day on Monday and Tuesday, speakers are lined up for presentations on a variety of sports. The majority of the talks are delivered by some of the state’s most successful high school coaches, but a few college coaches are also brought in each year.

This year’s guest lineup includes TCU’s Gary Patterson, Navy’s Ken Niumatalolo, Illinois’ Ron Zook and UT-San Antonio’s Larry Coker for football and Iowa State’s Fred Hoiberg and College of Charleston’s Bobby Cremins for basketball.

On the final day of the convention, five coaches will be inducted into THSCA’s Hall of Honor: Colie Huffman, George Harris, John C. Lerma, Doyle Parker and Ross Rogers.