Route 66: Who's missing

The original schedule had the banner-raising Mavs opening against the Chicago Bulls. Now, barring a Bulls-Mavs Finals matchup, reigning MVP Derrick Rose won’t come to Dallas this season.

Rose isn’t the only superstar not scheduled to make a trip to Dallas. Dwight Howard’s Orlando Magic also won’t visit the Mavs. (It is possible Howard, the epicenter of the NBA’s trade rumor mill, could play in the American Airlines Center for another team.)

The other Eastern Conference teams that won’t make it to Dallas this season are the Atlanta Hawks, Philadelphia 76ers, Cleveland Cavaliers and Detroit Pistons.

The schedule-maker didn’t do the Mavs any favors with the cities they’ll miss. They’ll still make stops in all the East’s playoff venues from last season with the exception of Conseco Fieldhouse, home of the eighth-seeded Indiana Pacers. The Mavs also won’t go to Milwaukee, Charlotte, New Jersey, Washington and Toronto.