Jason Kidd is sportsmanship award finalist

Mavericks guard Jason Kidd was one of six NBA players selected by a five-member panel of former players as divisional winners for the 2011-12 NBA Sportsmanship Award.

The NBA Sportsmanship Award, designed to honor a player who best represents the ideals of sportsmanship on the court, is voted on by NBA players. The NBA will announce the winner after the regular season.

The other regional winners are Cleveland’s Antawn Jamison, the Los Angeles Clippers’ Chris Paul, Miami’s Shane Battier, Minnesota’s Luke Ridnour and New York’s Jeremy Lin.

Former NBA players Greg Anthony, John Crotty, Antonio Davis, Eddie Johnson and Kenny Smith selected the six divisional winners from a pool of 30 team nominees. Each team nominated one of its players for this award.

The annual award reflects the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball, a key focus of the league’s NBA Cares program efforts.


Inaugural: Joe Dumars (1996)

1996-97: Terrell Brandon, Cleveland

1997-98: Avery Johnson, San Antonio

1998-99: Hersey Hawkins, Seattle

1999-00: Eric Snow, Philadelphia

2000-01: David Robinson, San Antonio

2001-02: Steve Smith, San Antonio

2002-03: Ray Allen, Seattle

2003-04: P.J. Brown, New Orleans

2004-05: Grant Hill, Orlando

2005-06: Elton Brand, Los Angeles Clippers

2006-07: Luol Deng, Chicago

2007-08: Grant Hill, Phoenix Suns

2008-09: Chauncey Billups, Denver Nuggets

2009-10: Grant Hill, Phoenix Suns

2010-11: Stephen Curry, Golden State