Shawn Marion finishes 8th in DPOY voting

Knicks center Tyson Chandler won the NBA's Defensive Player of the Year award Wednesday after finishing third in voting a year ago with the Mavericks.

Shawn Marion, whom the Mavs trumpeted as a legitimate candidate for the better part of the season, finished in eighth place, garnering two first-place votes, two seconds and one third. Oklahoma City Thunder forward Serge Ibaka, far-and-away the league leader in blocks, placed second with 41 first-place votes, just four fewer than Chandler.

Injured Orlando Magic center Dwight Howard saw his three-year run come to an end. He finished third.