Will Power first during practice session

IZOD IndyCar series points leader Will Power led a very tight 30-car field after the first practice session at Texas Motor Speedway on Friday afternoon.

Power posted a lap time of 24.3654 seconds, separating him from last place by .5612 seconds. Ryan Briscoe placed second, .016 seconds behind Power. Alex Lloyd rounded out the top three, .074 seconds behind the leader.

Danica Patrick's No. 7 car is the in the middle of the pack at 14th place. Patrick drove around the 1.455 mile track 38 times and her best time of 24.5853 seconds came at lap 27 at a speed of 213.054 miles an hour.

History suggests that the outcome may be the same on race day. Out of the 21 IndyCar Series races at TMS, fourteen have had a margin of victory of less than one second -- seven have been decided by less than one-tenths of a second.

Lloyd is positioned first in the qualifications order which is set to take place at 3:45 p.m. Other notables include Marco Andretti in eighth, Briscoe in ninth, Power in 18th and Patrick in 28th.