TMS president joins Hall of Fame process

TMS president Eddie Gossage has been named to the 21-person nominating committee and 54-person voting panel to determine the 2012 NASCAR Hall of Fame induction class.

“It is an honor to be one of a small number of people on both the nominating committee and the voting panel for the NASCAR Hall of Fame,” Gossage said in a statement. “... It is a privilege to have been in this sport for more than 30 years and I take the obligation very seriously.”

Bobby Isaac, Leonard Wood, Cotton Owens, Les Richter and H. Clay Earles are first-time nominees. Returning to the ballot will be Buck Baker, Red Byron, Richard Childress, Jerry Cook, Richie Evans, Tim Flock, Rick Hendrick, Jack Ingram, Dale Inman, Fred Lorenzen, Raymond Parks, Benny Parsons, Fireball Roberts, T. Wayne Robertson, Herb Thomas, Curtis Turner, Darrell Waltrip, Joe Weatherly, Glen Wood and Cale Yarborough.