FC Dallas topples SMU on the Hill

FC Dallas defeated SMU, 4-0, in a preseason scrimmage at the Mustangs' Westcott Field Wednesday night. Visit to his alma mater marked Daniel Hernandez's return to the FCD lineup.

The Dallas side got on the board in just the sixth minute when Blas Perez sent a through ball in behind the SMU defense for right midfielder Andrew Wiedeman. The third-year man controlled the ball and ran towards the top right corner of the six-yard box before firing a shot high over the left shoulder of goalkeeper Jamie Ibarra. The goal was the fourth in the last two games for Wiedeman.

After a pair of near-misses, Perez found the back of the net with a header in the 22nd minute. Zach Loyd collected a pass near the corner flag on the right flank and struck a line-drive cross into the center of the area. Perez rose above the pack to redirect his shot just inside the far post from 12 yards out.

FC Dallas rolled out a whole new lineup in the second half, needing 14 minutes of action to score its third goal of the night. The goal was set up by Ivory Coast native Dogba, who raced to the end line to keep the ball in bounds before delivering a centering pass in on the ground to Jeison Quinonez. Unmarked at the back post, Quinonez finished easily to give Dallas a 3-0 lead.

Six minutes later, FC Dallas Homegrown player Bryan Leyva forced a turnover deep in SMU territory. After gaining possession, the 20-year-old midfielder carried the ball into the area and beat SMU goalkeeper Devin Cook with a shot high to the back post.

Scoring Summary:

FCD – Andrew Wiedeman (Blas Perez) 6

FCD – Blas Perez (Zach Loyd) 22

FCD - Jeison Quinonez (Dogba) 59

FCD – Bryan Leyva 65

Misconduct Summary:



FC Dallas – Kevin Hartman (Chris Seitz 65), Jair Benitez, Ugo Ihemelu, Hernan Pertuz, Zach Loyd, Brek Shea, Daniel Hernandez, Andrew Jacobson, Andrew Wiedeman, Blas Perez, Fabian Castillo.

FC Dallas (2nd half) – Kevin Hartman, Moises Hernandez, Matt Hedges (Jack Stewart 74), Christian Ibeagha, Scott Gordon, Jonathan Top, Bobby Warshaw, Bryan Leyva, Dogba, Scott Sealy, Jeison Quinonez (Kleyner Bejarano 74).

SMU – Jamie Ibarra (Devin Cook 45), Dylan Schauder (Chris Sendejas 36), Aaron Sim, Max Rockwell, Ryan Rosenbaurn, Damian Rosales (Will Smith 36), Zach Barnes, TJ Nelson, Tyler Engel, Juan Castillo (Max Rockwell 61), Ben Hill.