MLS All-Star Game roster announced

Major League Soccer has released their complete roster for the All-Star game on the 28th of July at Reliant Stadium in Houston, Texas (7:30 p.m. CT, ESPN2, TeleFutura). As we reported last week, FCD midfield general David Ferreira and standout defender Heath Pearce have been named to the team by coach Bruce Arena.

Here's some more info from MLS...

The 2010 Commissioner's selections are Houston Dynamo star forward Brian Ching and "MLS Original" Jaime Moreno of D.C. United.

Due to international club competition for five members of the All-Star First XI and an injury to midfielder Kyle Beckerman, Arena selected 11 additional players for the game day roster:

Goalkeeper Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake); defenders Kevin Alston (New England Revolution), Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA), Wilman Conde (Chicago Fire) and Heath Pearce (FC Dallas); midfielders Sebastien Le Toux (Philadelphia Union), David Ferreira (FC Dallas), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Shalrie Joseph (New England Revolution) and Jeff Larentowicz (Colorado Rapids); as well as forward Juan Pablo Angel (NewYork Red Bulls).

Commissioner's Selections:

Brian Ching has been an integral part of the Dynamo squad and Houston = community since 2006. He scored four goals in the club's inaugural game, a 5-2 victory against Colorado. During the team's first season in Houston, Ching led the Dynamo to the MLS Cup, scoring the tying goal in = extra time against New England Revolution and his team's final goal in the penalty kick tiebreaker. The following year, Ching helped the Dynamo win their second MLS Cup with seven regular season goals and two in the playoffs.

Ching has been the Dynamo's Budweiser Golden Boot winner for the past three seasons -- 2007, 2008, and 2009. Among active players, his 68 = career goals rank 10th in MLS and are just two behind ninth-place Dwayne De Rosario. Since earning his first cap with the U.S. Men's National Team on May 26, 2003, Ching has worn his country's shirt on 45 occasions, recording 11 goals. This year, in conjunction with Dynamo Charities, MLS W.O.R.K.S. and Habitat for Humanity, Ching launched "The = House that Ching Built", a campaign to raise $75,000 to build a home for a deserving family.

Jaime Moreno is the League's all-time leading goal scorer and currently = is the only player to appear in each of the first 15 seasons of MLS. Moreno joined MLS and D.C. United midway through the League's inaugural year, 1996. The crafty Bolivian forward helped lead United to the first MLS Cup championship and has since won three more MLS Cups with United in 1997, 1999, and 2004.

In 2005, Moreno was named to the MLS All-Time Best XI and has been named to the single-season MLS Best XI five times. Now 36, he leads the MLS all-time goals chart with 132 and is fourth all-time in assists with 102 in 333 regular season games. He also ranks fourth all-time in playoff goals (12) and assists (10). Moreno has served his country well, scoring nine goals in 75 appearances for the Bolivian national team before retiring from his international career in October of 2008.

Arena and his staff will select the starters based on player availability and tactical considerations. Under the CBA, a total of 32 players will be named All-Stars. After the 23-man game day roster, the remaining nine players receiving that title will come from the weighted voting, but will be inactive for the All-Star Game. The inactive, or alternate All-Star roster, will be announced at a later date.

2010 AT&T MLS All-Star Game Roster:

Goalkeepers: Donovan Ricketts (LA Galaxy)*, Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)&

Defenders: Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy)*, Chad Marshall (Columbus Crew) *, Jamison Olave (Real Salt Lake)*, Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA) &, Heath Pearce (FC Dallas) &, Wilman Conde (Chicago Fire) &, Kevin Alston (New England Revolution) &.

Midfielders: Dwayne De Rosario (Toronto FC) *, Marco Pappa (Chicago Fire)* Javier Morales (Real Salt Lake) *, Guillermo Barros Schelotto (Columbus Crew) *, Sebastien Le Toux (Philadelphia Union) &, David Ferreira (FC Dallas) &, Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo) &, Shalrie Joseph (New England Revolution) &, Jeff Larentowicz (Colorado Rapids) &.=20

Forwards: Edson Buddle (LA Galaxy) *, Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy) *, Juan Pablo Angel (New York Red Bulls) &, Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo) +, Jaime Moreno (D.C. United) +

Unavailable: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake)

* Denotes selection to First XI Team

+ Denotes a Commissioner's Selection

& Denotes Coach's Selection

Online fan balloting comprising 25 percent of the combined First XI vote, with MLS coaches and GMs (25 percent), media (25 percent), and players (25 percent) accounting for the remainder. Players and coaches/general managers could not register votes for players on their own teams.