FCD clinches playoffs, wins Brimstone Cup

It was a remarkable night against the Chicago Fire for FC Dallas, some of it good, some of it bad. First FCD set a franchise record for scoreless minutes when they went though 4 minute without a goal. The record streak was finally broken for FCD when Jackson scored in the 41st minute leaving the new record mark at 401 minutes.

Then FCD went on to win the game 2-1 to not only clinch a playoff birth in the 2011 MLS Cup Playoffs, but also to bring home the Brimstone Cup for the 10th straight year. You have to go all the way back to 2001, the first year of the Cup's existence for the last time Chicago won the thing. That's a decade of domination for FCD fans to enjoy.

FCD clinched a playoff berth for the 12th time in franchise history by honor of their victory but can still move several places in the standings and perhaps even east to west in terms of brackets depending on how they do in the remaining games.

Daniel Cruz notched the eventual game winner off a corner kick Zach Loyd headed down. Cruz's half bicycle kick was very well placed past a surprised Sean Johnson to give FCD the 2-0 lead.

Chicago was forced to finish the match with 10 men when Pavel Pardo was shown a red card in the 79th minute for a slide tackle from behind on Villar.

Chicago scrapped a late goal to make it close when a FCD defender failed to clear, allowing Orr Barouch to collect the loose ball. Barouch found Sebastian Grazzini in the box, who cut back to score an easy goal at the back post.

One concern for FCD is the condition of Maicon Santos who was stretchered off and into the locker room after being kicekd in the face late in the game.

Attendance: 10,362

Scoring Summary:

DAL – Jackson (Ugo Ihemelu) 41

DAL – Daniel Cruz (Zach Loyd, Ricardo Villar) 53

CHI – Sebastian Grazzini (Orr Barouch) 85

Misconduct Summary:

CHI – Gonzalo Segares (caution; reckless tackle) 18

DAL – Zach Loyd (caution; tactical foul) 29

CHI – Dan Gargan (caution; reckless foul) 39

DAL – Jackson (caution; reckless tackle) 43

DAL – Daniel Cruz (caution; reckless tackle) 58

CHI – Pavel Pardo (ejection; serious foul play) 78

CHI – Corey Gibbs (caution; reckless foul) 82

CHI - Josip Mikulic (caution; reckless foul) 90

FC Dallas -- Kevin Hartman, Jair Benitez, Ugo Ihemelu, George John, Zach Loyd, Fabian Castillo (Brek Shea 63), Daniel Cruz (Bobby Warshaw 85), Andrew Jacobson, Ricardo Villar (Maicon Santos 90), Marvin Chavez, Jackson.

Substitutes Not Used: Chris Seitz, Jack Stewart, Jeremy Hall, Bruno Guarda.

TOTAL SHOTS: 12 (Jackson 4); SHOTS ON GOAL: 6 (Jackson 2); FOULS: 18 (Jackson 5); OFFSIDES: 2 (Brek Shea, Fabian Castillo 1); CORNER KICKS: 2 (Ricardo Villar, Fabian Castillo 1); SAVES: 2 (Kevin Hartman 2).

Chicago Fire – Sean Johnson, Dan Gargan (Josip Mikulic 77), Jalil Anibaba, Cory Gibbs, Gonzalo Segares (Orr Barouch 77), Logan Pause (Daniel Paladini 56), Pavel Pardo, Sebastian Grazzini, Patrick Nyarko, Diego Chaves, Dominic Oduro.

Substitutes Not Used: Jon Conway, Baggio Husidic, Victor Pineda, Michael Videira.

TOTAL SHOTS: 6 (Sebastian Grazzini, Patrick Nyarko 2); SHOTS ON GOAL: 3 (Sebastian Grazzini, Patrick Nyarko, Daniel Paladini 1); FOULS: 13 (Corey Gibbs 3); OFFSIDES: 1 (Dan Gargan 1); CORNER KICKS: 3 (Sebastian Grazzini 5); SAVES: 3 (Sean Johnson 3).

Referee: Michael Kennedy

Referee’s Assistants: Corey Rockwell, Peter Balciunas

4th Official: Chris Penso

Time of Match: 1:56

Weather: Clear, 65 degrees