Brek Shea named US Soccer's Young Male Athlete of the Year

U.S. Soccer has announced their award winners for 2011 and Brek Shea was named Young Male Athlete of the Year.

U.S. Men's National Team forward Clint Dempsey as the 2011 Male Athlete of the Year and U.S. Women's National Team forward Abby Wambach as the 2011 Female Athlete of the Year. U.S. WNT and U-23 WNT forward Sydney Leroux won the Young Male and Young Female Awards, respectively.

Shea took home Young Male Athlete of the Year after having a breakout year on both the international and professional level. Shea was the first player born in the 1990s to earn a cap for the U.S. MNT, earning eight caps in 2011 as one of three players to feature in all of Jurgen Klinsmann's games as head coach. With FC Dallas, Shea scored 11 goals in 31 games and was named to the 2011 MLS Best XI.

"This was a fun year for me - a lot of chances with the National Team, FC Dallas and getting to train with Arsenal," said Shea. "Hopefully in 2012 I get a chance to go to the Olympics and be a part of World Cup Qualifying. I'm honored to be part of this award. A lot of great players have won it."


1998: Josh Wolff

1999: Ben Olsen

2000: Landon Donovan

2001: DaMarcus Beasley

2002: Bobby Convey

2003: Freddy Adu

2004: Eddie Johnson

2005: Benny Feilhaber

2006: Jozy Altidore

2007: Michael Bradley

2008: Sacha Kljestan

2009: Luis Gil

2010: Gale Agbossoumonde

2011: Brek Shea