Stars fall to Blues in final game, 3-2

The Dallas Stars ended their season with a 3-2 loss to the St. Louis Blues at American Airlines Center Saturday night. The Stars, who lost their final five games, ended the season with a 42-35-5 record and 89 points.

Ryan Garbutt and Philip Larsen scored goals for the Stars. Richard Bachman stopped 32 of 35 shots.

First period

Stars goalie Richard Bachman was sharp in the first period, stopping nine shots.

The Stars had three power play chances, but could muster only one shot on goal.

St. Louis was 0-1 on the power play.

The Blues had a 9-8 shots advantage through one period.

Second period

The Stars had a couple of good scoring chances early in the second, but Blues goalie Jaroslav Halak stopped Adam Burish on a breakaway and denied a Ryan Garbutt bid from the slot.

Garbutt and Blues defenseman Barret Jackman picked up fighting majors in the period.

The Blues scored the first goal of the game with 8:54 left in the period when a Kris Russell shot from the left circle hit traffic, sending the puck over Stars goalie Richard Bachman and into the net.

Stars defenseman Brenden Dillon, making his NHL debut, had a nice backdoor chance, but was stopped by Halak with 3:00 left.

Third period

The Blues extended their lead to 2-0 with a power play goal with 12:06 remaining. With Loui Eriksson in the box for tripping, Alex Steen put a shot on net that was tipped into the net by David Perron.

The Stars got on the board with 10:51 remaining with the two teams playing four-on-four. Eriksson put a shot on goal from the left circle off the rush and Ryan Garbutt crashed the net and knocked the rebound past Halak to make it a 2-1 game. Jordie Benn also picked up an assist on the goal.

The Blues got their two goal lead back with another power play tally with 6:16 remaining when Perron roofed a shot from the right circle for his second goal of the night.

The Stars cut the lead to 3-2 with 3:04 left in regulation when Philip Larsen beat Halak for his

Stars lineup

R. Smith-Benn-Ryder






Pardy-Jordie Benn

Bachman (starter)


Scratched: Robidas, Dowell, Petersen, Dvorak, Fistric, Ott, Souray, Ribeiro