Nieuwendyk leads Stars' hopes for Hall

Former Stars forward Brett Hull was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame last year. Is Joe Nieuwendyk next?

He should be. As Pierre LeBrun and Scott Burnside noted in their column on Monday, Nieuwendyk should be a lock to get in. He won three Stanley Cups, including with Dallas in 1999 when he was the Conn Smythe winner. He won those Cups with three different teams in three different decades (Calgary in 1989, Dallas in 1999, New Jersey in 2003). Other former Stars players that are eligible for the first time this year:

Matthew Barnaby: Played just one season in Dallas, 2006-07. He was in 39 games for Dallas and had seven points.

Pierre Turgeon: Was a Star from 2001-05 and had 129 points (42 goals) in 207 games (three seasons). He had five points in 10 playoff games.

Arturs Irbe: He was in Dallas for the 1996-97 season and posted a 17-12-3 mark in 35 games with a 2.69 goals-against average.

A handful of other eligible players with Stars connections:

Goalie Don Beaupre: He played for Minnesota from 1980-89 (9 seasons) and was 126-125-45 with a 3.74 GAA.

Goalie Andy Moog: He won three Stanley Cups with Edmonton and played 175 career games for the Stars from 1993-97, posting a 75-64-2 mark with a 2.74 goals-against average. He appeared in the Cup Finals six times and played in the 1988 Calgary Winter Olympics for Canada.

Guy Carbonneau: He won the Selke Trophy (top defensive forward) three times and won three Stanley Cups, two with Montreal (1986 and 1993) and Dallas in 1999.

Dino Ciccarelli: Played 1980-89 for Minnesota with 651 points, including 332 goals. He had over 600 goals in his career.

Pat Verbeek: He had two stints in Dallas (1996-99 and 2001-02) and played in 42 postseason games with seven goals and nine assists.

Scott Young: Scored 31 goals and had 27 assists in 132 games in Dallas (2002-04).