Five Riders to start Texas League ASG

Five players for the Frisco RoughRiders -- 2B Matt Lawson, P Blake Beavan, RF Joey Butler, SS Renny Osuna and C Taylor Teagarden -- have been named to the 74th Texas League All-Star Game, it was announced Friday.

Teagarden, who was a distant fourth in American League voting for the MLB All-Star Game last week, is hitting .264 with two home runs and 16 RBIs over 24 games.

Lawton (.306, four HRs), Butler (.270, six HRs, 28 RBIs) and Osuna (.287) have helped stake the Riders to first place in the South Division. Beavan (8-3, 2.58 ERA) leads the Texas League in wins and was the league's pitcher of the week twice.

The Riders also had five All-Star selections last season. This season's ASG will be played at Citibank Ballpark in Midland on Wed., June 30.