<
>

Yorvit Torrealba has rough day

ATLANTA -- Rangers catcher Yorvit Torrealba had a forgettable third inning on Sunday.

It started with a catcher's interference call on Jordan Schafer with one out. Torrealba reached out toward the mound to catch a pitch and hit Schafer's bat. Home plate umpire Cory Blaser immediately signaled the interference and sent Schafer to first. That is scored as an error on the catcher.

After Alexi Ogando gave up a hit to Dan Uggla, he threw a breaking ball in the dirt to Jason Heyward and Torrealba wasn't able to block it. The wild pitch allowed the runners to go to second and third. So when Heyward then singled to center, it scored two runs instead of one.

That gave the Braves a 2-0 lead. Ogando appeared to work out of the inning after that, getting Brian McCann to fly out to right and Freddie Freeman to pop up a little bit up the first-base line. But Michael Young and Torrealba ran into each other and the ball dropped, allowing a third run to score. That ended up being the winning run.

The first baseman normally takes that ball. He has the bigger glove and doesn't have all of the catching equipment to worry about. Young said he was calling for the ball as he ran to it, but Torrealba obviously didn't hear him.

The catcher came back out to hit in the top of the fourth and got an RBI single. But he was taken out after that with fatigue issues as Taylor Teagarden entered. Torrealba needed fluids through an IV after the game.

"That was a wild inning," Washington said. "He ran out there and said he didn't hear Michael. Just a miscommunication right there. It happened in the third. I still thought we had a chance to keep pecking and get something done, but the best we could do today was two runs."