Minor league award winners announced

The Rangers announced the club's 2011 minor league award winners:

  • Tom Grieve Minor League Player of the Year: SS Jurickson Profar

  • Nolan Ryan Minor League Pitcher of the Year: LHP Robbie Ross

  • Rangers Minor League Reliever of the Year: Justin Miller

  • Defender of the Year: OF Ryan Strausborger

All four players will be honored at the 2012 Texas Rangers Dr Pepper Awards Show on Thursday at the Arlington Convention Center. You can listen to our Hot Stove Show on 103.3 FM ESPN from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. as well on Thursday as we talk to many Rangers players about the upcoming season.

Other honorees include:

  • Michael Young: 2011 Rangers Player of the Year, 2011 Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award

  • C.J. Wilson: 2011 Rangers Pitcher of the Year

  • Craig Gentry: 2011 Rangers Rookie of the Year

  • David Murphy: 2011 Harold McKinney Good Guy Award

  • Darren Oliver: 2011 Jim Sundberg Community Achievement Award

  • Frank Howard: 2012 Mark Holtz Texas Rangers Alumni Award

  • Clayton Kershaw: 2011 Texas Professional Baseball Player of the Year

  • Adrian Beltre: 2011 Rawlings Gold Glove and Silver Slugger Awards

  • Bobby Jones: 2011 Bobby Jones Player Development Man of the Year Award

  • Don Welke: 2011 Don Welke Scout of the Year Award

The show is a theater-style seating event. The doors open at 6:30 p.m. and the show begins at 7:30. Tickets are still available for $75 (reserved) or $50 (general admission) and can be purchased at texasrangers.com or by calling 972-726-4377.