Matt Harrison, Yu Darvish get Cy Young votes

In the closest vote since 1969 (which was a tie), Tampa Bay Rays' David Price won the 2012 AL Cy Young Award over Justin Verlander by four points. Price got 14 first-place votes to Verlander's 13. Fernando Rodney got the other first-place vote.

Voters put five names on their ballots. Two of them had Matt Harrison fifth and another put Yu Darvish in that spot. The Rangers starters finished eighth and ninth, respectively.

Interestingly, it wasn't voters from Texas that put Harrison or Darvish on the ballot (it was writers from Boston, Cleveland and Minnesota).