Ron Washington finishes third in voting

To no suprise, Tampa Bay Rays manager Joe Maddon ran away with the American League Manager of the Year award announced Wednesday.

Texas Rangers manager Ron Washington finished third in the voting. Detroit Tigers manager Jim Leyland finished second. Washington's club beat the Rays in the AL division series and then the Tigers to capture their second consecutive AL pennant. Washington got one first-place vote, seven seconds and five thirds.

Maddon, who received 26 first-place votes and one second, oversaw the the Rays remarkable rally from a nine-game deficit in the wild-card standings on Sept. 3 to squeeze past the Boston Red Sox on the final game of the regular season. It was the low-payroll Rays’ third playoff appearance in four seasons.

Kirk Gibson, the rookie manager who led the Arizona Diamondbacks to the National League West title won the award in the other league.

Here's the final tally (first-place votes-second-third-total)as voted on by the Baseball Writers' Association of America:

American League

Joe Maddon, Tampa Bay Rays(26-1-0--133)

Jim Leyland, Detroit Tigers (1-13-10--54)

Ron Washington, Texas Rangers (1-7-5--31)

Manny Acta, Cleveland Indians (0-3-7--16)

Joe Girardi, New York Yankees (0-3-5--14)

Mike Scioscia, Los Angeles Angels (0-1-1--4)

National League

Kirk Gibson, Arizona Diamondbacks (28-4-0--152)

Ron Roenicke, Milwaukee Brewers (3-25-2--92)

Tony La Russa, St. Louis Cardinals (1-2-13--24)

Charlie Manuel, Philadelphia Phillies (0-1-7--10)

Fredi Gonzalez, Atlanta Braves (0-0-4--4)

Bruce Bochy, San Francisco Giants (0-0-2--2)

Clint Hurdle, Pittsburgh Pirates (0-0-2--2)

Terry Collins, New York Mets (0-0-1--1)

Don Mattingly, L.A. Dodgers (0-0-1--1)