Firestone 550: Scott Dixon keeps lead

FORT WORTH, Texas -- Scott Dixon currently leads the IZOD IndyCar Series Firestone 550 after 100 laps at Texas Motor Speedway.

The driver of the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda has led for most of the race. He is trying for his second consecutive win of the IndyCar series, having finished first at Belle Isle.

No. 27 James Hinchcliffe was able to take the second place spot in the 98th round. The driver of the Andretti Autosport Godaddy.com Chevy sits at fourth place in the championship standings and is trying for his first win this year.

American Graham Rahal has been able to sustain a strong race, holding on to third place. The driver of the No. 38 Service Central Chip Ganassi Racing Honda is ranked 15th in the standings and has yet to win this year.

No. 98 Alex Tagliani, who began the race on the pole, currently sits in 12th place.

Despite starting the race in second, No. 10 Dario Franchitti fell behind in the first 50 rounds and has struggled to make up ground. The winner of the Indy 500 and the last race at TMS currently sits in 19th place.

Three-time TMS winner Helio Castroneves has fought up to sixth place.

Five drivers have been forced to leave the race so far: No. 83 Charlie Kimball and No. 15 Takuma Sato because of contact and No. 8 Rubens Barrichello and No. 78 Simona de Silvestro because of car failures. Most recently No. 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay has had to leave due to a mechanical issue.

Rounding out the top five are No. 20 Ed Carpenter and No. 18 Justin Wilson.