Firestone 550: Graham Rahal leads, Scott Dixon out

FORT WORTH, Texas -- After leading for 133 laps, Scott Dixon is out of the IZOD IndyCar Series Firestone 550 at Texas Motor Speedway.

Despite dominating the race, Dixon was overtaken by Will Power in the 171st lap and two laps later Dixon lost control of his No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Honda and slammed into the wall. Dixon was not injured.

Power led until the 191st lap when he was charged with a blocking penalty on Tony Kanaan and had to give up his lead. The driver of the No. 12 Team Penske Chevy is the points leader in the championship standings and is currently in eighth place.

With just 28 laps to go, No. 38 Graham Rahal leads the Firestone 550. The American driver of the Service Central Chip Ganassi Honda took the lead from No. 2 Ryan Briscoe with less than 30 laps to go. Rahal is ranked 15th in the standings and is trying for his first win of the year.

Power’s teammate Briscoe is currently in second place and seeking his first win of the year. Briscoe sits at eighth place in the standings.

No. 11 Kanaan had battled from far behind to take the third spot, but lost his lead when he had to make an untimely spot in Pit Road for a broken wing caused by Power’s block. Kanaan surrendered the third place spot to Helio Castroneves and is currently in 12th place.

Pole winner No. 98 Alex Tagliani, currently sits in ninth place. Second-place starter No. 10 Dario Franchitti has fought from last up to 14th.

The top five are currently Rahal, Briscoe, No. 18 Justin Wilson, Castroneves, and No. 27 James Hinchcliffe.