Nevada announces 2014 HOF class

George Foreman and Evander Holyfield were elected to the Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame. Al Bello/Allsport

The Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame announced its second induction class on Tuesday, headed by former heavyweight champions George Foreman and Evander Holyfield and the legendary former four-division champion Roberto Duran.

In all, 18 people (13 living) in 10 categories will be inducted into the Nevada HOF. They were selected by a panel of 33 voters made up of Nevada-based boxing media, past inductees and the HOF’s board members.

The annual induction dinner and ceremony will take place this summer in Las Vegas at a site to be determined.

“We at the NVBHOF are thrilled to again honor those, both in and out of the ring, who have made Nevada the boxing capital of the world,” Hall president and founder Rich Marotta said. “”Last year's inaugural induction ceremony/dinner was a massive success, with fans coming to the event from all over the country to mix with, have dinner with, and hear from the amazing boxing personalities who took part.”

This year’s class includes Foreman, Holyfield and Duran in the non-Nevada-resident category for fighters who fought at least 10 fights total or seven world title fights in Nevada.

In the Nevada resident boxer category, for fighters who lived in Nevada during a portion of their career, former heavyweight champion Sonny Liston and former junior lightweight champion Cornelius Boza Edwards were voted in.

Late, great former heavyweight champion Joe Louis was selected in the adoptive Nevada resident category for fighters who moved to Nevada after their careers.

In the pioneer category, for those prominent in Nevada boxing before 1960, former heavyweight champion Jack Dempsey and former light heavyweight champion Archie Moore were selected posthumously.

Former Caesars Palace chief executive Clifford Perlman and casino magnate Steve Wynn, who hosted fights at the Mirage and Wynn, were elected in the special contributor category.

In the executive category, for Nevada State Athletic chairman Luther Mack and the late Chuck Minker, the former commission executive director, were elected.

Two inductees come in the media category, both of whom live in Las Vegas: famed television announcer Col. Bob Sheridan, who has called nearly 10,000 bouts and close to 1,000 world title fights, and writer Kevin Iole, who covered boxing for the Las Vegas Review-Journal from 1990-2007 and now covers boxing for Yahoo! Sports.

In the official category, referees Richard Steele and Kenny Bayless were selected.

In the non-boxer-participant category for trainers, managers or cutmen, Miguel Diaz was elected. He has worked as a cutman or trainer for numerous fighters, including Manny Pacquiao, Floyd Mayweather Jr., Diego Corrales, Jose Luis Castillo and James Toney.

In the promotions category for promoters, matchmakers and publicists, longtime Top Rank matchmaker Bruce Tramper was elected.